Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Low GPA from Johns Hopkins... Law School Possibilities?  (Read 2364 times)

nykni9ht

• View Profile
    • Email
Low GPA from Johns Hopkins... Law School Possibilities?
« on: July 08, 2008, 11:56:21 AM »
Facts:

1. I graduated from Johns Hopkins with a rough GPA of 2.4 as a premed.

2. I was very active on campus with various social organizations. I was president of the GLBT group for 2 years and received various deans awards for my work in justice and diversity within the campus.

3. I have been a paralegal at a top 20 law firm for over 2 years with recommendations from partners regarding my substantive work. (Yes, I did things besides make binders and page-check documents). I've done a lot of 1st year work like document review and preparting presentations for arbitration.

4. I am taking my LSATS this October and feel I can break 165, I have taken a course already and am still studying.

Any suggestions on how to make me more attractive to a top law school, how to develop my application/personal statement, any thoughts would be greatly apprecaite, thanks.

$Bill

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Low GPA from Johns Hopkins... Law School Possibilities?
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2008, 12:32:12 PM »
Take LSAT first.  Use LSAC and law school numbers to gauge your chances.  Prosper.  Anyone can go to lawschool nowadays, its knowing what your getting into thats the key.

richardblaine

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2008, 12:40:48 PM »
1. Separate yourself from your GPA.  Focus your PS on your substantive work experience and how you've grown, etc.  Make it sound like undergrad was a long time ago.

2. Write a brief addendum explaining the difficulty of your premed course load and any other extenuating circumstances that may have negatively impacted your GPA.  But keep it short.

3. Take a look at these folks:

http://www.lawschoolnumbers.com/display.php?user=OkieMike