Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: W&L or W&M?  (Read 705 times)

ebirt07

• View Profile
W&L or W&M?
« on: July 03, 2008, 06:27:38 PM »
So I have a few days to make the decision between Washington & Lee and
William & Mary.

I'm a VA resident- is there any way for me to justify spending the
extra $40k over 2 years on W&L? I went to W&M undergrad, so I'm
comfortable there, but I think a change might be good. I do like
W&L's rabid alumni base, the tiny size of the school, and the new 3rd
year program, but is that worth $40k? Is there a huge difference in
job prospects?

I also can't find an answer as to how W&L and W&M treat grades from my
first school. Any ideas?

Total Cost of Attendance
W&L- $53,775
W&M- $34,364 (instate)

Thanks everybody!

sasfore

• View Profile
Re: W&L or W&M?
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2008, 10:02:08 PM »
"First, I'll be W&L in the fall, so that may impact how I view the school

Washington and Lee places much better than people give them credit for. Clerkship percentage for 2007 grads was 19%. Around 60% went private practice, with a starting salary median of 110,000. The private practice and starting salary could be higher, but W&L grads are notorious for wanting to find a "comfortable job" rather than high salary. I would much rather take 100,000 in Charlotte than 160K in NYC.

So, I feel there is at least a 50% (60%/2 + 19%) chance to land a extremely good job. I decided on W&L and low debt over BC, wisconsin, iowa, UNC, washington university in st.louis, and a few other schools."

big - fat - box

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: W&L or W&M?
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2008, 10:33:04 PM »
Placement is going to be about the same. Neither is a truly national school and the big firms don't go nearly as deep in recruiting as they do at the top 10-15 schools.