Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Submit transcript now for higher ugpa or submit later for higher LSAC gpa?  (Read 872 times)

meggo

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
The title pretty much says it all.

I'm taking three summer courses, the first mark I will receive back by the end of the month or early into July and I expect it to be my highest mark of my three summer courses. If I submit my transcript after I get that mark, my ugpa will be at 3.76 or a 3.77 (this is going off the assumption that LSAC uses the OMSAS gpa conversion scale for Canadian university students). I'm a transfer student and my marks were quite low my first year of uni, which I left about 3 years ago. So factoring everything together, submitting my transcript after I receive my first summer course grade I would have a UGPA of 3.76 and a LSAC gpa of 3.23.

Alternatively, if I wait to get my other two grades, and where I estimate they will fall, my UGPA will go down to a 3.74 but my LSAC gpa will rise to a 3.32. Obviously, when schools receive my transcripts they will see the huge discrepancy in gpa's and will look at my transcripts. I will also be attaching an addendum to explain the 10% difference in my average.

Is this discrepancy in ugpa too minute to warrant any concern and I should just wait and send in my transcripts once my LSAC gpa is likely to be raised? Any suggestions would be helpful!

Bulldog86

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
I don't 100% understand what you're asking, but I think the general rule is that LSDAS GPA is the only thing that matters.

I think UGPA might be a soft factor if there's a big difference and an upward trend (which I think is your case?) but it seems to me that if you're talking about the difference between a 3.32 and 3.23 on the GPA that matters, versus dropping .02 on the GPA that doesn't, I would maximize the LSDAS GPA and submit at the end of the summer. I suppose being Canadian might change things, but I doubt it.