Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Very low UGPA, what next? Should I apply to top schools anyway?  (Read 2828 times)

SingleGirl

• View Profile
I'm only 3 months into the idea of becoming a lawyer.  I suppose I never considered it before b/c I had a pretty severe misconception of what lawyers actually did until I began work in my current field (mental health clinician). 

I have a graduate degree already with a high GPA.  However, my UGA is only 2.97.  My practice LSAT's are in the 170's and I plan on studying from now until the next test.  I've used the UGA/LSAT guesstimator to see where I stand and it's scary.

Since I'm new to the field, I'm not set on a Tier or a career post-grad in a large firm.  I actually plan to work in a rural part of the country in public service.  Still, the program that interests me the most in my region with the most opportunities, clinics, etc is a Top 10 school.  Ugh.

I figure it's pretty much gone.  Should I apply anyway, just in case?  Since I come from a different field that seems a bit more subjective with their admissions criteria, I'm totally uncertain whether these numbers are hard and fast or flexible.

Thanks in advance. I'm 29 so all of my friends have long since completed this process and don't really have any current answers for me.

Oh, also, will they even get a chance to see that I have a graduate degree?  Is there a way to sell myself that plays up my accomplishments in my field/public policy that can overdo the GPA?

Thanks again.

Resident CLS Troll

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: Very low UGPA, what next? Should I apply to top schools anyway?
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2008, 03:16:47 AM »
I think that you have a shot depending on how you do on your LSAT's.  Get that question answered first though.

SingleGirl

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2008, 03:20:09 AM »