Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: parenting = gap in work experience  (Read 1939 times)

NowBadger

• View Profile
parenting = gap in work experience
« on: July 09, 2005, 12:22:40 AM »
I visited a law school a while back (because I happened to be in the area), and talked with the dean of admissions at that school.   

After a few questions about my background, the Dean asked if I have been volunteering since leaving the workforce.  I have young children and have been home with them for a few years (prior to that I worked in Marketing).  I said I have been, and she advised that I need to emphasize the volunteer work on my application because the admission committee does not like to see gaps in work experience.

I guess I'm a little disappointed my decision to raise kids has such little value that I need to account for what I've "really" been doing. Perhaps I just need to get used to it entering this profession.

Thoughts?

elemnopee

Re: parenting = gap in work experience
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2005, 12:54:23 AM »
Honestly,

Put down the parenting as work experience, I'm not joking.  First, it might make an adcomm laugh, or your application stand out.  Second, parenting is the most important job, and I can not believe anyone would consider that a "gap."

I think you are right about this profession as a whole though.

Mrs Malaprop

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
    • My LSN Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2005, 08:37:24 AM »