Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Can I live off of 30k in Los Angeles?  (Read 3859 times)

thechoson

Can I live off of 30k in Los Angeles?
« on: June 08, 2004, 08:36:47 PM »
I live here and yet I have no clue.  Anyone? Headmachine, I know you bus econ major you are making the big bucks

jgomez

Re: Can I live off of 30k in Los Angeles?
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2004, 08:38:07 PM »
when i graduated from college in los angeles, i only made 22K.  so yes, you can. 

thechoson

« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2004, 08:39:05 PM »
when i graduated from college in los angeles, i only made 22K.  so yes, you can. 

uh.... when was this. What about inflation? And were you able to save any dough?

jgomez

« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2004, 08:40:24 PM »
back in 1996, and no i couldn't save anything because i was dating someone, and had to commute 120 miles a day. 

thechoson

« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2004, 08:48:26 PM »
back in 1996, and no i couldn't save anything because i was dating someone, and had to commute 120 miles a day. 

DAMN

jgruber

« Reply #5 on: June 08, 2004, 08:58:39 PM »
30K a week.  Sure that's enough.

forthguy

« Reply #6 on: June 08, 2004, 11:27:50 PM »
Sure, it's going to be possible.  It ain't going to be fun.

My first "real" job after school paid $23K in Boston (in 1995.)  It's tough to live off of that, but it can be done.

Just break it down. Figure $2500/month.  You're going to lose maybe 1/4 of that to taxes (I'm guessing) so you'll net $1850/month.  If you can pull off a rent of $850/month, you've got $1000 left over for food, entertainment, utilities, transportation, etc.  Get a roommate and that helps, especially when it comes to saving.  (I had $430/mo in undergraduate student loans to pay off when I was making $23K.)

*shiver*

I know I wouldn't want to return to living like that.

Greg

rathpa

« Reply #7 on: June 09, 2004, 09:39:15 AM »
Just live in a VAN down by the RIVER.

IrishGeisha

• Sr. Citizen