Applying to law school > Law School Applications

Where to get in with these other #'s...

(1/3) > >>

AlexPL:
OK I went to an Ivy League university and graduated with a 3.40 (with honors).  I double majored in both Political Science and International Relations.  I was involved in a great deal of extra-curriculars and was a national officer of an organization.

I have been working as a government consultant since graduation in 1998.  I also took some time from consulting to work on a judicial fellowship for a year with the State of California.

Unfortunately I got a 156 on the LSAT.

I was hoping to apply to Georgetown, GWU, Northwestern, Notre Dame, BU, BC, and Vanderbilt.

I'm hoping to get some feedback on my chances.  Any advice and/or ideas are greatly apprecaited.

Thank you. :)

Jube:
Imho, with a 3.4/156, those schools are going to be reaches. Your extras and Ivy degree might help you, but I'm not sure they'd be able to change a whole lot.

I'd say your chances at GULC, Vandy and NWU are going to be pretty low given their medians. BC, I hear, look for 3.5/160s.

BU is notoriously LSAT heavy. They do seem to give Ivy grads some leeway but its usually in the GPA department and not LSAT. BU is getting into "we're going to cut class size and be more selective to raise rankings" mode so they might be more critical about the lower LSAT.

I have no experience with ND . . . can't help ya there.

Good Luck! :)

:D :D :)

AlexPL:
Thanks Jube!

They are reaches but not impossible right?  

All I hope to do is get my foot in the door.  I have a lot of unique experiences (more than I've already revealed) and hope to be able to get my essay and resume read by the law schools.  I just hope that the adcomms will read my app and not just toss it.  Right now ND is my safety and I'd be very content going there.  The schools I mentioned earlier are just my first round.  I want to see if I get any responses from any of them, then I will apply to another three or four schools.