Law School Discussion

Vandy Atmosphere

Omey

• If it dont make dollaz, IT DONT MAKE SENSE!!
    • View Profile
Vandy Atmosphere
« on: April 06, 2005, 10:46:57 PM »
I think someone already did a post about this but Id appreciate any advice here.

Ok, so the only reason I dont want to go to Vandy is because it's in Nashville.  I've lived in the Southeast my whole life and kind of want to get out of the region for law school.  Plus, I've heard that Vandy is kind of snobby, with that whole atmosphere included.  Im a minority student who is looking for diversity in the city he lives in, with lots of different people and a very diversified culture.  So far, from people I've talked to, it doesnt look like Vandy or Nashville are anything like that.  Am I right about this, any current students there?

Thanks gang

Omey

• View Profile
Re: Vandy Atmosphere
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2005, 08:14:11 AM »
Anybody? Anybody?

« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2005, 08:56:41 AM »
Frankly, Nashville leaves a great deal to be desired. If you are into the frat scene or possibly the off-beat music scene as an undergrad, it might be passable for 3 years at max, but 4 pushes it. All the law students I know seem to be relatively content, but only because they seem to be a bit too busy to worry about the limited offerings of the city. The area around Vandy is nice, but not as cheap to live in as you might expect. The school itself (both grad and undergrad) is beautiful, well-regarded, etc. As per the minority thing, you might find a slight issue with that as an undergrad, although I know plenty of minorities (make your own definition of that word) who have had great experiences. I have also known law students who are minorities, and they seem to enjoy it. Overall, however, I think the prestige of the law school and its great facilities makes up for what the city lacks. Vandy also has a great alum base that is always expanding around the country. HTH.

« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2005, 11:53:27 AM »