Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Circuit Court Judge, Internship?  (Read 2749 times)

knight

• View Profile
Circuit Court Judge, Internship?
« on: March 02, 2008, 02:11:45 PM »
Hello!

I have an opportunity to work with a Circuit Court Judge as an L0 with an acceptance letter from a T1 school.

I want to emphasize ‘work with’ over ‘intern.’  I will be performing IT duties and other more menial labors due to my background in computer science. 

I have three questions, if you would be so kind as to answer them (or point me to a website with relevant information):   :)

1)   Is a Circuit Court Judge Internship a prestigious position (does it usually pay, is it sought after, etc), or does it vary wildly by state?
2)   How much does it matter that I do internships in a state that I will eventually be working it? For example, I do not care where I work as a lawyer, as long as it is BIGLAW.  Do I need to intern in specific states (like not Montana, West Virginia, North Dakota, etc.) or will it not have an impact?
3)   Lastly, is this going to be a better resume builder than just jerking it over the summer, or could it potentially hurt my long term job prospects by nailing me down to one state?

I truly appreciate your helpful responses.  I look forward to the day I can pass on the advice that you give me.

KC#11

• View Profile
Re: Circuit Court Judge, Internship?
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2008, 02:41:25 PM »
Hello!

I have an opportunity to work with a Circuit Court Judge as an L0 with an acceptance letter from a T1 school.

I want to emphasize ‘work with’ over ‘intern.’  I will be performing IT duties and other more menial labors due to my background in computer science. 

I have three questions, if you would be so kind as to answer them (or point me to a website with relevant information):   :)

1)   Is a Circuit Court Judge Internship a prestigious position (does it usually pay, is it sought after, etc), or does it vary wildly by state?