Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Preparation for 1L summer classes?  (Read 1655 times)

eestiarmastus

• View Profile
Preparation for 1L summer classes?
« on: February 05, 2008, 02:19:24 PM »
Hi!

I just found out today that I got into my dream law school, and that I'll probably be starting school in the summer, taking classes in Property and Contracts. I was just wondering what advice you have on preparing for these classes. I've heard I need to get briefs, is that right? I'm sure this is a pretty naive question but I'm really new to all of this. Any advice would be
appreciated.

Thanks!

thorc954

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: Preparation for 1L summer classes?
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2008, 02:52:42 PM »
Do not do any preparation for your summer classes.  Some people will recommend LEEWS or some books about law school, but save your money and your time. 

As far as briefs go, dont buy them.  You will write them yourself when you get to school, and it is an important skill to learn and develop as it helps you prepare for exacting information for your legal writing class.

And, congrats on getting into your dream school (baylor?) :)  make sure that law school is something you really want to do before you jump into it as it is hard to go back after you start.

1LMan

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2008, 03:01:35 PM »
Yeah, I know, may as well have just said Baylor ;).  Either Baylor or maybe Iowa as those are the only two decent law schools I can think of that start students in the summer. 

jacy85

• LSD Obsessed
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2008, 04:27:00 PM »
Ditto on most of thorc's advice.  I do recommend LEEWS, though I'm not sure if I'd recommend it pre-law school.  I did LEEWS in late October my first semester of 1L; I wish I had done it a month earlier.  I'm not sure how that timing would translate to summer classes though.

eestiarmastus

• View Profile