Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Erie Doctrine, help me master this sucker before my final  (Read 2675 times)

AssaultAndBattery

• View Profile
    • Email
Erie Doctrine, help me master this sucker before my final
« on: December 06, 2007, 01:27:22 AM »
Hello everyone,

Goodluck to all those studying and getting ready for finals. I have my civpro final in 5 days and finally things are starting to click except for that god forsaken erie doctrine.

Does anyone have any tips, resources, suggestions, with the erie doctrine? I am not looking to supplements this far into the game, but I just was looking for some clear answers for one, in a fact pattern, when should I realize that I have an erie question on my hand? Also, perhaps some black letter rules for erie that are the most important. Thanks in advance, sorry if this was incoherent, I am studying for a different class.

chydiva82

• Did God take permission from U when he created ME?
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Erie Doctrine, help me master this sucker before my final
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2007, 01:58:40 AM »
Maybe the below will be helpful...maybe not....your civ pro professor might approach erie differently..

22.   ERIE DOCTRINE

A.   APPLYING ERIE: In diversity cases the court has the problem in deciding which law to apply.
1.   Is it Substantive or Procedural?
a.   Substantive = go to #2 - related to the cause of action or claims being raised
b.   Procedural = go to #3 - related to the  process of the case that needs to be followed 
2.   Is there federal law on point?