Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: After the offer...  (Read 1901 times)

SJ228

• View Profile
After the offer...
« on: September 25, 2007, 01:53:57 AM »
Well, I was lucky enough to get one offer and after a ton of callbacks this week, hopefully there will be at least one more. Now, what questions do I ask after the offer? Everyone always says that there are questions that you should only ask after the offer, but what are they? What are ways to distinguish the firms after the fact? Is this the time to ask about billable expectations? Are the V10 really that much worse then V50 in terms of work?

(I am a first generation lawyer and no nothing about this whole process. Career services is even less help, so Im sorry for all the stupid questions!)

jacy85

• LSD Obsessed
    • View Profile
Re: After the offer...
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2007, 07:10:26 AM »
If you want to ask about quality of life, now's the time to do it.

themanwithnoname

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2007, 10:25:06 AM »
No, hours are not really that closely linked with firm prestige. The truth is, a lot of the top firms are more profitable because they do work that commands a higher hourly rate. For instance, antitrust rather than employment law in litigation. A lot of times, its the lower ranked firms that have billables requirements. Dewey Ballantine does, Simpson Thacher and Davis Polk do not. Cadwalader will have killer hours, arguably moreso than a lot of V10 firms. I am actually of the opinion that unless you are picking a firm based on a niche practice, you should only go about 10 spots lower down on the vault than your highest ranked firm, unless you really hate that firm. The quality of life will not be different and you will be happy to have the exit opportunities.

1LMan

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2007, 10:51:43 AM »