Law School Discussion

What do you think?

What do you think?
« on: January 30, 2007, 10:56:21 PM »
I am a 1L T4 student with a 3.91 GPA (class rank still not out but thinking top 3%) - what do you think my chances are at GULC?  My undergrad GPA and LSAT are not all that hot but I am hoping that they can look past all of that.  Any help would be appriciated- thanks in advance

UChi2L

• View Profile
Re: What do you think?
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2007, 05:02:28 AM »
I'd guess 40-50% chance of getting in.  To be honest, it depends on which T4 you're at (and where it's located).

« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2007, 08:34:15 AM »
Well its in Chicago (there is only one, so you do the math)- and I would say as far as T4's go its pretty competitive and fairly well respected (at least in Chicago)

« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2007, 09:22:33 AM »
As in all things related to transferring:

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/transferapps/

The database should answer a lot.

Ronald Hyatt

• Hedgehog
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2007, 03:44:41 PM »
Assuming you finish out the year in the top 5%, I would say your chances of transferring to a T14 are pretty good. Do you have your heart set on GULC? If you are flexible enough to move, you might as well cast a wider net and apply to several of the so-called elite law schools. Definitely go to the Yahoo Group and peruse the databases for past years' transfer results. They are replete with examples of average to poor UGPA/LSAT scores transferring to top-notch schools after placing in the top of their 1L classes. Also, if you search through old messages in there, you should be able to find out which schools accept more transfer students (e.g. - NYU, Columbia, Harvard, Boalt, GULC) and those which only accept enough to make up for first year attrition (e.g. - Yale, Stanford).