Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: LL.M. advice needed  (Read 9571 times)

BTMead

• View Profile
    • Email
LL.M. advice needed
« on: October 19, 2006, 09:06:50 AM »
Well, the moment I have feared has finally come to pass.  Let me explain via a brief history.  I graduated undergrad magna cum laude.  I took the LSAT without studying (I know, very stupid) and scored a 158.  Instead of taking it again I decided to just go to school where I could get in (again, not so smart).  I am currently a 3L at Suffulk University Law in Boston and desire to pursue a career as a constitutional scholar and hopefully law professor.  Considering Suffolk Law is not a top 15 I am very aware that I will need a LL.M. from one of the top schools in order to make myself marketable.  So, with my academic history in mind, are Yale and Harvard pretty much out of the question?  I do know Professor Akhil Amar of Yale fame and might be able to get a good rec from him.  Could this possibly counteract my lack of an Ivy J.D.?  Finally, I would prefer to go straight from law school to an LL.M. program, but am willing to work first; would my chances of admission be higher if I worked for a few years and then applied?  As far as the schools I am interested in, it seems to me that only the top LL.M. programs would serve the dual purpose of education and upgrading my pedigree, but if I a wrong in this assumption let me know.  Thanks for the help and any advice you can throw my way.

jacy85

• LSD Obsessed
    • View Profile
Re: LL.M. advice needed
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2006, 02:44:26 PM »
You may have to work for more than a "few years" to counteract the fact that you not only do not come from an Ivy school, but you in fact come from a 4th tier school (note that I'm not knocking Suffolk, I have quite a few friends that go there, and I think its seriously underrated)