Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Socratic method & law school preparation  (Read 5060 times)

Pittman2

• View Profile
Socratic method & law school preparation
« on: February 22, 2006, 06:02:01 PM »
I've been told that it helps to take a Constitutional Law (or other law) class prior to law school to prepare for the Socratic method. I'm a prospective law student and am deciding whether to take such a course. Has anyone done so or know of someone who has? Was the class worthwhile?

Also, I have heard that taking a legal writing course and a course on the American legal system are helpful. Any thoughts on these? Thanks for your advice.

T. Durden

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: Socratic method & law school preparation
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2006, 06:31:42 PM »
taking a course simply for the sake of preparing for the socratic method is not wise. the socratic method is what it is - prof asks you questions and you answer. you'll get better it as time goes along but taking proactive steps pre-law school would be a complete waste of time. virtually all 1Ls come into the meat grinder that is LS knowing nothing about the socratic method and what constitutes a "good answer". you'll get a better idea as time goes along (as will everyone else) but there is absolutely not reason to prep for 1L socratic method unless you think that it will be some sort of problem / issue for you. i won't lie. it's scary at times. no one likes to be put on the spot in front of a group of their peers and then asked to deal with complex issues which you don't really understand. this is, however, something that you will go through together - and yes, you will all pretty much equally suck at it at the beginning. also, and maybe more importantly, (and this may be school dependent) the socratic method doesn't affect your grade in the least, unless you come completely unprepared. as long as you can form a semi-intelligible answre you'll get by.