Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: I hate working hard and reaping little  (Read 857 times)

jetcat33

• View Profile
I hate working hard and reaping little
« on: January 14, 2006, 03:24:16 AM »
I am an average student. My LSAT was the average for the school to which I applied. My grades are more or less average.

That is fine. I enjoy law school and understand that exams are important but will not matter once I have a few years of working in the real world behind me.

But what ticks me off is that for some exams, I spend hours on end studying, and bomb it despite believing it was going to be the breakout A grade. Case in point: Con law.

I do well with take home exams. It takes me forever to write - perhaps longer than for any other peer. But once I'm done, it's good and mostly accurate.
In Con law, I did the readings, did the briefs, and participated. When I took the take home exam, I wrote succinctly, IRAC-ed, and leafed through the entire book to make sure I covered all issues and addressed the right cases.

Today the grades came through. With horror - or at least more than average disappointment, I saw that I received a C - our average hovers somewhere around B, B-. C is the worst yet, and what makes it harder to bear is the time I invested.

I decided to check out the law discussions to lighten up and put the world into perspective, and so far it has worked. But I am still ticked off! If I had a chance to take the Con law exam again, I have no idea what I would do differently! It would come very handy to hear that the Registrar erred during grade input.

But I guess this type of experince is a rite of passage and something everyone goes through. It's still a pain.

Thanks for listening to my rant.

jetcat33
 >:(

Contract2008

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: I hate working hard and reaping little
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2006, 02:31:27 PM »