Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Resume Questions...and drama...  (Read 2404 times)

MsCatch22

• View Profile
    • Email
Resume Questions...and drama...
« on: January 07, 2006, 03:48:22 PM »
So here is the summary of my life so far. 

Finished 1L, Did fairly well, got offers of journals (but not law review), had a summer placement at a non-profit, given a fellowship/scholarship to cover the summer......

Finances disappeared, expenses popped up, returning to law school looked bleak....

So I dropped out and returned to my previous job teaching....

Anyway, I've found the way to finance the return to law school.

Now here are the problems I have

1. I didn't finish my job over the summer so I have no experience.
2. The clinic I was registered for (for the fall semester) I missed out on
3. No longer able to join a journal
4.  Technically this summer will be my "2L" summer

So questions:

1. How do I deal with this on my resume? In the time since I left school, I did work on a specialization for my previous degree and as I mentioned was working as a teacher.

2. Should I try to do something part time legally related to gain some experience this semester??

3. Help!!!

Thanks

giraffe205

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: Resume Questions...and drama...
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2006, 10:10:08 PM »
I don't think you should deal w/ it on your resume but rather in the interview. However, if you at least started to work at the non-profit but did not finish, I would put down that you worked there. Perhaps you could also do a judicial externship through your school for credit or a clinic of some sort and put it down as well. These will give you something to talk about. In other words, at the interviews, you'll be able to talk about how you get clients to trust you or how exciting a particular hearing was.

ApproachTheBench

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2006, 08:56:37 PM »