Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Grade Requirements for getting a summer job  (Read 2310 times)

cam108

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Grade Requirements for getting a summer job
« on: December 26, 2005, 03:22:31 AM »
HI,

I was just curious about this. So if a student got for instance all C's or all B's and a D or something to that effect, should they not apply to any job which requests a copy of their transcripts? I am just wondering what happens to the students who didn't get all A's or B's. Are they doomed? Or are there plenty of jobs which don't ask for first semester grades?

I felt confident when I took my exams well except for one, but as a first year student I don't know what to expect. So these thoughts have run across my mind, since I know alot of jobs request to see your 1st semester grades. Ok, as you can see I am still  waiting to recieve my grades.  ???

Thanks  :)
HUSL 1L

1HellChicago

• View Profile
Re: Grade Requirements for getting a summer job
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2006, 11:00:52 PM »
Bump - I'm wondering the same thing. I do have my grades, and unfortunately have 4 good ones (B+/A-) and then one "C" that stands out... I'm afraid I'm ruined.

ApproachTheBench

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2006, 10:52:33 AM »
I think you should apply to all the places you can.  Seriously.  What's the worst that can happen, they say no? 

I really believe that the more firms you apply to, the better chance you have at getting hired (that's why I wrote ApproachTheBench, because I wanted it to be easy to apply everywhere quickly.)

My 1L year I got probably 95 rejections but I did get an offer, so hey that's $25k in the bank for sitting around in a library for a summer.  Those rejections didn't seem so bad anymore! :-)
Save time, save money, find a summer job at http://www.approachthebench.com

ApproachTheBench

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2006, 10:58:51 AM »