Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Where to Live in Pitt  (Read 4596 times)

SleepyGuyYawn

• View Profile
Where to Live in Pitt
« on: January 26, 2005, 10:42:53 AM »
I've been admitted, and I'm 95% sure I'm going to Pitt.  Any thoughts on where to live?  I'm looking at Bloomfield, Squirrel Hill, and Shadyside -- but those might be relatively expensive.  I've also thought about the South Side, Regent Square, Point Breeze, Highland Park, North Oakland, and perhaps East Liberty... although I know East Liberty can be pretty sketchy.  Any thoughts?

rapunzel

• View Profile
    • Email
Re: Where to Live in Pitt
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2005, 09:06:42 PM »
I lived in Regent Square when I did my master's at Pitt.  It has a lot of the qualities of Squirrel Hill but is usually more economic.  The access to Frick Park is wonderful and it is easy to get to everything.  I took the bus, which isn't too bad, 3 come through the main drag.  Sadly, parking in Oakland is nigh impossible unless you are independently wealthy. 

East Liberty is a little shady- but more importantly it's inconvienient as is Highland Park.  Takes forever to access a highway. 

SleepyGuyYawn

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2005, 01:44:34 AM »
Thanks a lot for the response!

Although I will have a car, I'm much more concerned about my commute to school than access to the highway.  I visited a friend in Shadyside for a few days and I liked it, but I think it might be a bit pricy.  I actually prefer to take the bus to school, rather than drive, but I'd rather have a short bus ride, a short wait at the stop (i.e. they come every ten or fifteen minutes), and I'd like to not have to pass up a bus in the am b/c it's too full. 

I actually went to a little party in Regent Square when I was there.  It was nice.  What was the bus situation like? 

And any opinion on Bloomfield?

Thanks!

asuhelms

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2005, 05:17:11 AM »