Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Patent Law / Engineering  (Read 1014 times)

Mike

Patent Law / Engineering
« on: May 17, 2004, 11:52:18 PM »
Hello everyone,

I am currently an undergraduate student at the University of Michigan and I have decided to major in Industrial and Operations Engineering (in an honors program with a cultural/business core that can lead me into a masters') rather than Biomedical Engineering. I chose IOE because my strongest interests and skills lie in Mathematics, and IOE would give me a chance to apply these mathematical skills to a broader major that is applicable to numerous types of engineering and business. Apparently IOE also gives its students a different way of analytical thinking and problem solving that is applicable to numerous areas, whereas other fields may not allow for that as much. I still have an interest in BME, but enjoy the human aspects of Industrial Engineering, and consider myself strong (or stronger than most engineers) in human communications and interactions. If I could find a way to combine IOE with BME, I would... a dual major is probably out of the question since much of my time is spent fulfilling business/cultural credits for my honors program (which I enjoy, and it allows me to get a broader background that will be applicable to business and most professions). I have considered going on for a Masters in BME or Pharmaceutical Engineering, however... this would be feasible.

After asking various family friends who are lawyers and partners at big-law firms, the consensus seems to be that although there may be more biotech patents, as long as I can sit for the patent bar, I should choose the major that I am most interested in and would receive the highest GPA from.