Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: typing exams?  (Read 2369 times)

typist

typing exams?
« on: March 03, 2003, 05:10:42 AM »
To type or not to type?  My school requires that we use a typewriter if we want to type our exams.  I'm a much faster typer than I am a writer, but I don't know if the noise of the typewriter and the bulk (harder to think because the test question is way off to the side) would reduce any advantage gained by my speed.  Any thoughts?

I've heard from friends at other schools that a lot of schools are allowing people to take exams on computers.  This seems to be the best strategy, no noise, smaller size.  Has anyone had any experice with this?  Any problems?  What if your computer crashes in the middle of the exam?

dogtown

Re: typing exams?
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2003, 12:02:27 PM »
I am finishing my second year, and I have used a laptop for every single one of my exams since I started lawschool.  Its a huge advantage.  And I guarantee you the teacher, whether consciously or not, favors the typed exams.  Your hands never get tired, and you can edit your answers to your hearts content.  

The school makes you install a program that locks your hard drive during the exam so that you cant access notes.  If your computer crashes, your in trouble.  It has never happened at our school.  The software company says that its software cant cause crashes.

As far as using an actual typwriter.  I would do it.  You said you were concerned about not having the exam directly in front of you.  Thoroughly read the exam and outline your answer ahead of time.  Then all you need to do is glance at it here and there to make sure your on track.  

Dangermouse

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2003, 04:24:05 PM »