Law School Discussion

Slightly confused still

frankm007

Slightly confused still
« on: March 27, 2005, 08:03:19 PM »
G1 -> H2
H1 -> G2

does this mean that G can't be in 2 without H being in 2 also?

AlfsDrinkingBuddy

Re: Slightly confused still
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2005, 08:08:06 PM »
It means if G is 1, H HAS to be in 2, but H can be in 2 without G being in 1.
Like wise, if H is in 1 G HAS to be 2, but G can be in 2 without H being in 1.

G and H can both be in 2. If one is in 1, the other HAS to be in 2. As a general rule, when you diagram it out, the necessary conditions(right of arrow) can occur without the sufficient condition(left of arrow) occurring.

frankm007

Re: Slightly confused still
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2005, 08:13:58 PM »
so H and G can be in 1 or 2...

ccorsi

Re: Slightly confused still
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2005, 08:15:24 PM »
Of course if I stab G1 in the back with a shank he will be dead and no longer in H2 which would have no effect whatsoever on H1 or G2.

C2