Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Blow to the ego...Toledo  (Read 1571 times)

andrea612

• View Profile
Blow to the ego...Toledo
« on: March 18, 2005, 09:57:33 AM »
My first ding came as a bit of a surprise.  This just goes to show that you really can't rely on chiashu (it gave a 91.45% chance of being admitted).  I don't know what got me rejected...I had a 3.07/154 (150, 158), extracurriculars, 2 yrs WE in law firms, volunteer work, and strong LORs.  Maybe my personal statement wasn't as good as I thought it was or something.  I'm pretty disappointed, though, because I was really looking forward to the prospect of having in state tuition at Toledo although I'm a permanent resident of Michigan.  Oh well, not much I can do about it now.
Attending: Capital
Accepted:  Capital, CalWestern, Stetson PT
Waitlist, Accept: McGeorge
Waitlist:  Stetson FT(withdrew)
Pending:  Dayton
Rejects:  Toledo

Ladybuglaw05

• GPA: 3.21 LSAT: 156
    • View Profile
Re: Blow to the ego...Toledo
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2005, 12:42:03 PM »
I feel your pain.  :( The letter came from Toledo yesterday and I am still in shock. I even had a chance to talk with two admissions people from Toledo back in November who basically said I would be in for sure, it was more of a question of wether or not I'd get $$$.  Luckily I recieved a decent scholarship from Capital, and Columbus is a much better city w/ a significantly stronger legal market.  A friend of mine works at a large firm in Columbus and she said that a HUGE portion of Toledo's grads apply to Columbus firms. Only those in the top 3-5 in their class are likely to get a position though, b/c Columbus firms have a strong preference for Capital and Ohio State grads. Where are you thinking of going now that Toledo's off the list?

andrea612

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2005, 06:08:02 PM »