Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Where To Go??? What To Major In???  (Read 3026 times)

peteyincr

• View Profile
    • Email
Where To Go??? What To Major In???
« on: March 04, 2005, 06:58:06 PM »
Im a grade 11 student in Canada and plan to go to school in the states, undergrad and law school i think but i have no idea where to apply or even where to start in narrowing it down.  Ive been thinking of poli sci as a major but ive been hearing that its too ordinary and i should maybe major in something else to make my application for law school stand out, what are some other majors somewhat similar but out of the ordinary?  Any ideas for undergrad, law schools or majors??? HELP ME

anton

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Where To Go??? What To Major In???
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2005, 02:31:18 PM »
For starters, don't even start thinking about where you want to go to law school now.  You don't know what your qualifications will be by the time you're out of college or even if you'll still be interested in law school.

As for what to major in, law schools don't really care what you major in, although they may look at your GPA slightly differently if you're in a major that's perceived as difficult or particularly easy.  It may be slightly easier to get in with a bad GPA if you majored in physics or mathematics than if you majored in Art History.  The important thing is to pick something that interests you and you'll do well in.