Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Any Paralegals Taking the Leap?  (Read 3712 times)

twarga

Any Paralegals Taking the Leap?
« on: January 15, 2005, 06:50:32 PM »
I'm a paralegal (civilian and military reserivst) taking the leap to law school.  Anybody with me?  If so, what do you think your chances are of doing well?  I feel pretty good about it, since I'm comfortable with Lexis Nexis, research, writing, etc.

the REAL desi

Re: Any Paralegals Taking the Leap?
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2005, 06:54:40 PM »
I'm a paralegal (civilian and military reserivst) taking the leap to law school.  Anybody with me?  If so, what do you think your chances are of doing well?  I feel pretty good about it, since I'm comfortable with Lexis Nexis, research, writing, etc.

plenty of my classmates were paralegals (mainly in NY and Boston) for a year or two before coming to law school.  you'll be in good company.  don't, however, let that lull you into a sense of security regarding your coursework.

twarga

« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2005, 07:11:41 PM »
No lulling here... I have to keep a 3.2 to keep my scholarship, so I'll be working my *ss off for the next few years. 

gemesq

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2005, 04:56:19 PM »
I have been a paralegal for a few years and decided to "take the leap."  My firm is very supportive and I will be working while I am in school.  I know it will be hard, but I really do not want to lose the "real world" experience (and the help with classes) that I will get from continuing to work in the field.  I definitely feel like being in the legal field will give me an advantage.  If nothing else, at least I won't be looking up every word in my Black's Law Dictionary because I don't understand what the hell my professors are saying! 
"Oh, I'm sorry, you must have been absent the day they taught law at law school..." Tom Cruise, A Few Good Men

nekko

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile