Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Patent law related to science  (Read 1413 times)

quarter

• I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    • View Profile
Patent law related to science
« on: December 17, 2002, 09:21:46 PM »
I am really interested in patent law related to science/genetics. I go to UW-Madison majoring in molecular biology and have a 3.56gpa. What schools could I get into? What schools are good for my interest?

Pun

• I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    • View Profile
Re: Patent law related to science
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2002, 10:46:12 AM »
Hey,

I majored in the same thing; their is no patent law in science program per say; however, some schools offers course in Intellectual property and genetics, bioethics, health law and so forth. To my knowledge the following schools offer good patent law programs with science: Boston, Cardozo, Minnesota, Kent.

Also, in order to be a patent lawyer (litigator) you need to pass a patent agent exam. The failure rate is very high and generally a patent agent has a PHD or ath the very least a Master's in the related science field. Please do you research their are alot of oppurtunities for a scientist in law. Anyhow, do some reading in the legal field before you committ yourself to a career as a patent lawyer. The process is not that easy and the time commitment is hell.

rogerkell

• I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2002, 12:31:21 PM »
my dad is a patent attorney and I asked him about it.  Because of the location of the Patent Office in Arlington, VA, a few of the DC schools have good patent courses.  Look at GW, Georgetown and Goerge Mason.

Both patent agents and patent attorneys need to take the patent agents exam.  It is very hard to pass without some practical experience so figure on interning somewhere during the process.  The exam is only given 1 or 2 times per year.