Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: What is your opinion?  (Read 951 times)

nygal2626

What is your opinion?
« on: December 08, 2004, 09:30:00 PM »
Hey guys!  Ok what do you think my chances are in getting in at a good tier 1 school like Emory or George Washington.  I have a 3.46 GPA, LSAT of 159... I graduated from NYU in 2003 and have been working for over a year as a financial analyst for a major Bank... and I worked for top companies all throughout college, volunteer work, RA on campus, etc.... any possibilities or not a chance in hell?

kccole

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: What is your opinion?
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2004, 09:32:18 PM »
You don't win if you don't play! In law school admissions or in life. So with that in mind - Apply!
Get Right, or get Left!!!!

wildcataz2004

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2004, 09:33:03 PM »

nygal2626

« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2004, 09:35:22 PM »
oh and i forgot to add that i am African-American

mfitz

• Sr. Citizen
  • 3.72/158
    • AOL Instant Messenger - MEFter0913
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #4 on: December 08, 2004, 10:40:38 PM »
I don't think URM status pops you up as much as people think.  I think you would probably get picked over an equal candidate with your same numbers, but I dont' think that gives you extra bonus points.

In any case, you have a better chance at Emory than at GW.  Of course, your chance at GW is probably better if you apply PT.
Accepts: Akron, Washburn, Hamline, Valpo, Mercer, Baylor (Sum), Arkansas, Ohio Northern, Tennessee,  Ave Maria, U of St. Thomas, St. Louis, S Carolina, Hofstra, U Florida.
Rejects: George Mason, UGA (blah).

I'm going to Tennessee!!!!!!

AubZamZam

« Reply #5 on: December 08, 2004, 10:58:53 PM »