Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: I need some advice!!  (Read 1131 times)

a2525

• View Profile
I need some advice!!
« on: December 06, 2004, 10:54:51 PM »
Hi, I'm new to this message board and I really need some help from anyone with expertise on law admissions.

I've submitted my apps to almost all the law schools in Canada, but I fear that I have a slim chance due to my poor LSAT. Overall, I think my apps are pretty solid - I'm majoring in Women's studies and my statement was pretty personal, talking about an incident of violence against women in my immediate family when I was younger and how it led me to become an activist for women's rights.
My extra-curriculars are good, I was the President of the Women's Studies Student Union, I volunteered as a peer counsellor, I am a residence don (student mentor) this year.  My references are excellent, from two profs who know me really well. I didn't do so well in first yr, my CGPA is only 3.15 but in the last two yrs I'm at a 3.6. I have solid work experience for 4 years with municipal government. HOWEVER, I just could not nail that damn lsat for the life of me, and I really did try. I wrote it three times - June: 153, October:155, and last weekend, well I don't feel confident that it will be much better. Timing is a huge issue for me. Is there anything else I can do at this point? Should I write some sort of addendum about my LSAT scores? Should I send an additional reference letter from my employer, will the admissions office accept it after my application has been submitted? Do I have any chance here at all? I'm an absolute wreck worrying about this, anyone who can offer any advice or empathize with me, please respond!!
Thanks

Matthew_24_24

• Sr. Citizen
  • Sigh
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: I need some advice!!
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2004, 11:52:02 PM »