Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: immigration law  (Read 1018 times)

neita

• View Profile
    • Email
immigration law
« on: April 16, 2004, 10:33:55 AM »
What do you all think about the future of immigration law... especially say, south central Texas way? Anyone specializing in IL? If so,what do you plan to do with it? Thanks

jgruber

Re: immigration law
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2004, 10:34:52 AM »
I'm in Tennessee and I see a future in immigration law here.  We have a ton o' Mexicans round here.

neita

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2004, 12:09:27 PM »
 :o Oh, my! Well, thanks for the reply!!
I'm in Tennessee and I see a future in immigration law here.  We have a ton o' Mexicans round here.
Could someone fill me in a little about it? Mostly Civil or what? (Admittedly, i'm a newbie)

thechoson

« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2004, 02:27:12 PM »
Those Mexicans must be new.  I used to live in Alabama from 1987-1992, and would occasionally visit Tennessee and would not see a single Mexican.  I am Asian, and I'd actually see more Asians than Mexicans

jgruber

« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2004, 02:31:37 PM »
I've been in this area for about 14 years.  My perception is that it is more recent.  Let's say it became more noticable in the last six years.  Before that you'd only see Mexicans running restaurants.  Now you see them doing landscaping, construction and more.

There are a number of Mexican grocery stores and store front churches these days.  A number of the older churches offer services in Spanish, including mine, the one and only Catholic Church in town.

thechoson

« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2004, 02:33:08 PM »
Wow, that's really cool, I guess.  Didn't Nashville have a big model of the Parthenon (or whatever that ancient Greek Temple was)?  I remember visiting it

cal4ever

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 16, 2004, 02:48:50 PM »