Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: another 30 year old applying to law school...should i bother?  (Read 3553 times)

dsong02

• Sr. Citizen
  • small. yellow. different.
    • View Profile
first post...=)  excited like a little school boy about law school, but i want someone to smack me with some reality so i can decide whether to spend the money to apply to/pay for law school...

ive been working for the past 7 years in IT and have been very much interested in emerging tech IP law.  my UGPA is absolutely horrible (2.6 from U of Penn, English) but i did pretty well on the LSAT (178). 

realistically...what are my chances of getting into a top 15 law school?  i work in new york, and i would love to stick around here if possible...looking to NYU, Columbia as my incredibly-far-reach schools. 

do recommendations account for much?  should i try to make friends with bloomberg and ask him for a rec?

should i give up the pipe dream of getting into law school? 

has anyone ever heard of an applicant getting into either of these law schools with a 2.6 UGPA?? 

SOMEONE, PLEASE SLAP ME WITH SOME REALITY!!!

very much appreciated!

dan
'why does it hurt so much when i poke it?'

forthguy

Re: another 30 year old applying to law school...should i bother?
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2004, 01:41:42 PM »
first post...=)  excited like a little school boy about law school, but i want someone to smack me with some reality so i can decide whether to spend the money to apply to/pay for law school...

ive been working for the past 7 years in IT and have been very much interested in emerging tech IP law.  my UGPA is absolutely horrible (2.6 from U of Penn, English) but i did pretty well on the LSAT (178). 

realistically...what are my chances of getting into a top 15 law school?  i work in new york, and i would love to stick around here if possible...looking to NYU, Columbia as my incredibly-far-reach schools.