Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: writing out of state bar exams  (Read 2054 times)

tuckge

• I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    • View Profile
    • Email
writing out of state bar exams
« on: March 25, 2003, 03:06:20 PM »
i'm a canadian student so forgive my ignorance. how hard is it to attend school in one state and write the bar and actually find a job in another??? i'm talking about attending a second or third tier school, not Harvard, NYU etc. in other words, is it necessary that i factor in where i want to practice into my choice of school?

lp4law

• Sr. Citizen
  • super genius
    • View Profile
Re: writing out of state bar exams
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2003, 07:20:54 AM »
It depends in large part on what point in your career you expect to pursue an "out of state" job.  If you want to be able to take the bar exam in any state immediately upon graduation from law school, then you will need to attend an ABA (American Bar Association) accredited law school (See LSAC.org for a list).  If you go to a state-accredited law school, you are only guaranteed to be able to take that state's bar exam upon graduation.  Regardless, most states still allow you to take their bar exam once you have practiced law 3-5 years in any other state.

Most people will tell you that you should always go to an ABA accredited school if you can get into one.  This is not necessarily true.  Such a claim seems to rely on two fallacies:  the "quality of education" fallacy and the "bang for your buck" fallacy.