Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: need advice  (Read 1504 times)

trogdor

• Sr. Citizen
  • the BURNINATOR!
    • View Profile
    • LSN profile
need advice
« on: October 25, 2004, 12:48:55 AM »
i know there are literally hundreds of other posts on this, but i don't give a damn. 

i also underperformed on the october lsat. i scored 9 points lower than what i was getting on practice tests. 

usually, i wouldn't be this candid, but i have to make some decisions very quickly, so i'm going to lay everything on the table.  i've got a 3.84 cum gpa (4.0 at my transfer school - 3.49 from freshman year... we won't talk about that), i got a 160 on the lsat, i'm not an ethnic minority though i do have a somewhat uncommon major in environmental science, i've been doing college debate for four years, and i now my school choices are basically shot because i was pretty much focusing on top 20 schools.  i need some of the best, most realistic schools i could hope to get into with this data.  i'm considering retaking the lsat in december, but i'm not sure yet.  if you know of any schools that focus more on gpa and less on lsat or good schools i might have a chance at, please help!

thanks... here's a drink to drown the sorrows for me and everyone else who did much worse than expected. 

"If you want a vision of the future, imagine a boot stamping on a human face - forever." Orwell

scc

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: need advice
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2004, 05:40:53 AM »
Boalt and the other UC schools are known for looking at GPA...also UNC, I think?  Don't lose hope!  Someone with scores similar to yours got into Boalt; I'm sure you'll get into a great school.  Just make sure the rest of your application is amazing.

GentleTim

• Sr. Citizen
  • 3.45/175
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2004, 08:55:17 AM »
i know there are literally hundreds of other posts on this, but i don't give a damn.