Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: some help please?  (Read 843 times)

shiningstarsweetie

• View Profile
some help please?
« on: October 18, 2004, 07:50:24 PM »
I am currently a high school student and I am wondering about the whole becoming a lawyer process. If I've understood correctly you have to have at least 3 years of undergraduates studies to apply to U of T Faculty of Law, but most have a 4 year undergraduate degree. Then it takes an additional 3 years for a combined degree J.D/M.A? So then am I set to go become a lawyer?  ???Oh and what undergraduate programs should I apply to if I want to go into Law. Any comments would be appreciated!

Cheeks

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: some help please?
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2004, 08:04:42 PM »
You need a 4 year degree to get into UofT.  They say you don't, but i think they've only let in like 2 people without one.

3 years joing J.D./MA I think at UofT but that depends on the MA program and law school.

Are you applying to undergrad next year?  I think you should just pick a topic that you're interested in and will do well in.  Tailoring your major to law school is probably a mistake.  Just try and get the best marks possible.  To get into any Canadian law school, you'll need a 3.50+ GPA.  If you want to get into UofT, you'll need something around a 3.75.

ps - In general, degrees in philosophy, economics, math, stuff like that, do best on the LSAT

JD

« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2004, 11:13:35 PM »

kerisd

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2004, 02:11:59 AM »
shiningstarsweetie~
well.. I really concur with a comment that Cheeks made.. that you should not feel obliged to select a major simply to prepare for law school. You're still very young and since you're contemplating a law education, you really should undertake a discipline that you are genuinely interested in. You never know.. your goals may shift.