Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: A lousy UG GPA and a decent MBA GPA, does LSAC combine?  (Read 661 times)

Gpasqua

• View Profile
    • Email
A lousy UG GPA and a decent MBA GPA, does LSAC combine?
« on: March 28, 2004, 02:04:43 PM »
Hi everyone this is my first post and I am glad to be here.  I am a 31 year old husband with a 7 month old.  My undergrad was in Psychology and I walked away with an embarassing 2.1 or 2.2 GPA. Awful.  I screwed around for 4 and a half years and loved every minute of it.  I eventually got a job in a giant Telecommunications Company who pays the tuition on any type of educational program.  As I matured I decided to get an MBA from Long Island University, CW Post Campus.  I graduated with Honors and 3.6+ GPA.  Now I know the LSAT score really weighs heavily when applying, but will LSAC differentiate between my two Grades and two Degrees or will they review my transcipts and "decide" what my GPA is?
If they do "decide", does anyone know how they get to a number?  What would mine be?
Also a little off topic, I have several choices for Part Time programs.  How "lighter" is the load in comparison to a FT program?  I work Full time, so I am just curious if anyone had any generalizations about PT programs...
Thank you for your time...

Lawschool2005

Re: A lousy UG GPA and a decent MBA GPA, does LSAC combine?
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2004, 02:37:20 PM »
Unfortunately they do not go by graduate gpa but ug however if you write an add and say why you had a low ug gpa and show how much you improved in graduate school. They may consider your app, what did you get on the lsat because if you have a score over 165 they will most probably be ok with it.

Revenant

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: A lousy UG GPA and a decent MBA GPA, does LSAC combine?
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2004, 08:36:59 PM »