PT vs FT law school

*shell*

• FSU...@#!* *&^% up
    • AOL Instant Messenger - shellrae007
    • View Profile
    • Email
PT vs FT law school
« on: October 14, 2004, 10:23:05 AM »
I'm a senior in college and going through the whole process of applying to law schools now.  I went to a law school forum this past weekend and it really has me thinking about part time law school programs.  I have to be able to work since I'm on my own and have bills and tuition to pay.  I'm just worried about the quality of part time programs.  Not only are the LSAT and GPA averages lower for most part time programs, but course selection can't be as great as full time, right?  I'm a traditional student, 21 years old, going right from college, are there many other people in that group that go part time?  Help?

Michelle  ???

nathanielmark

Re: PT vs FT law school
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2004, 11:00:10 AM »
it seems to me that you have the stated constraint of needing to maintain employment while going to law school, therefore, you have no choice but to attend part time.  i think you will be one of the younger students in a part time program, but in most PT programs, the class offerings are pretty similar.  also, the only problem PT students tend to have is not being able to do associateships(unless they quit there FT jobs to work in a firm in the summer, which is what i plan to do).

there is nothing wrong with going PT. if you can handle it and work hard, you should have similar prospects to comparable FT grads with less debt.

best of luck.

buddha

• View Profile
    • Impossible to Tell
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2004, 11:04:05 AM »
As a PT student let me share my impressions.  Going to law school pt and working FT sucks a rectum with a straw.  Especially if you're really passionate about the law and want to devote as much time as possible to its study.  If you have to go PT, do it.  If can borrow to cover living expenses, I think you should.