Law School Discussion

Also seeking advice

Also seeking advice
« on: October 07, 2004, 10:19:40 PM »
Hi, I need to make some decisions ASAP and I'd like some honest feedback. I'm a 42 y/o female from Louisiana. I graduated from the University of Louisiana in 1991 with a 3.52 where I received a BS in Psychology. I then went to LSU and obtained a masters in social work. My GPA was around a 3.55 there but my kids were young at the time. I worked in La as a social worker for several years, then moved to AZ about 10 years ago.

After moving to AZ I went to the Police Academy and have been an officer for 8 years. For the past 2 years I have been a detective with the sex crimes unit. I have always wanted to go to law school. My youngest just started college this semester so I decided to go for it.

I began studying about 3 weeks ago and took the Oct LSAT. I know I blew the last two games.(I had to guess b/c I didn't understand how to set them up). I was scoring in the mid to high 150's before I took the test. I practiced but now realize it wasn't near enough. I also took a weekend prep course the weekend before the LSAT.

I want to apply to ASU and LSU. I know I need a 160 or more for ASU and 155 or so for LSU. I also think I can do better on the test but in reading the answers on this website, I seem to have answered pretty much the same as everyone else (for what that's worth)!

My concern is that I scored in the low 150s and will have to score in the mid 160s in Dec. to even have a chance at ASU. I'm wondering if it would be best to cancel and retest? Also, how will this third career change affect my chances? Will the admissions people think I'm a flake?

I know this was really long..sorry. Thanks for any advice you have to offer.

shadowcreeper

• LSD Cheerleader
    • View Profile
    • law school hopeful
    • Email
Re: Also seeking advice
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2004, 07:50:42 AM »