Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: What do I do?  (Read 1129 times)

1L2005

• View Profile
What do I do?
« on: March 23, 2004, 10:44:10 AM »
I have a question I hope someone can answer for me. I apologize if I get long-winded. I graduated with a B.S. and an M.S., done concurrently. Most students who go through the dual degree program at my school continue to be classified as undergraduates for the length of their stay. For a couple of reasons (mostly to get in-state tuition) I switched my status to be a graduate student for my last four semesters. I just got my transcript back, however, and apparently someone at the school changed me back to an undergrad after my first semester as a graduate student but no one ever noticed.

Now, why this matters. The semester I was counted as a graduate student was not all that great, lower than my cumulative GPA. This actually good for my UGPA b/c it takes out one bad semester. On the other hand though, at the end of my transcript where it shows the combine totals, I have 13 credits as a graduate student with a not so hot GPA.

My question is this, it's going to cost me about $600 to have them change me to a grad student for the semesters after that first one (b/c of back fees that I didn't pay b/c I was charged as an undergrad). Will it be worth it to switch them, knowing that it will lower my UGPA (albeit pretty slightly) while making my grad GPA higher. Or should I just leave it, and include an adendum witht the e-mail from the school admitting that they made a mistake and that I shouldn't have been moved. My thinking is that the UGPA is the most important so it's better to leave it as high as possible, but I'm worried it will look bad to have that one semester as my grad total.

Whew, sorry that was so long. Any and all advice would be much appreciated. I am planning on asking an admissions councelor, but I thought I should seek advice from all sources.

jgomez

Re: What do I do?