Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Adding a new profession. What are my chances?  (Read 2777 times)

Lawgineer

• View Profile
    • Email
Adding a new profession. What are my chances?
« on: March 22, 2008, 05:35:36 PM »
I just joined the site and already I have found a lot of useful information!  This place is great! 

Let me introduce myself:

I am a structural engineer and about 28 years of age.  I have a bachelors and masters degree in civil engineering from a top school in that field and carried about a 3.4ish average.  For the past five years was a bridge design engineer for a firm in Chicago.

Recently I decided to take an off year and evaluate my life and career.  Engineering was not as fulfilling or as challenging as I had hoped and I wasn't happy with the direction my life was headed.  During this time off I moved out of northern Illinois and started researching what I would like to do next.  I decided I would still like to be involved in structural engineering on some level, contractual or volunteer, but that the law is where my true interest lies.

What I'm hoping I can get from you guys, and gals, who are further along in this process is any general advice on things you would have done differently or obstacles you had to navigate during the LSAT or when applying to law school?  Any advice from practicing lawyers would be helpful as well.  Any specific advice from Engineers/Lawyers would be doubly-helpful!

Also, does anyone know of a good source of information on how to best go about applying for law schools?  Do you take the LSAT first?  Or do you sort of take the LSAT and apply at the same time?  When, if I were starting my preparations today, could I expect to be starting law school?

I have a ton more questions but I'm sure there are some posts that already answer them so I'll search around a bit more first.