Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Will I be taken at all seriously?  (Read 1845 times)

bunnyfarm

• View Profile
Will I be taken at all seriously?
« on: March 18, 2008, 04:03:27 PM »
Hi--

Can anybody offer me insight?  I haven't taken the LSAT yet, but am studying like crazy--and so far doing great on practice tests, with plenty of study time left until June.

Anyway... here's my situation.  I graduated with about a 3.2/3.3 GPA from a tier 1 school (ranked in the mid nineties each year, usually).  Here's the thing--I finished my BA when I was 19 years old, after only a year and a half of college.  So, I was overloading on classes, working part time, and--to top it off--dealing with a troubled/abusive family situation in high school (hence my not having applied to a stellar college for undergrad).  Now I'm 23, more mature, and with some good work experience behind me, and aiming for law school...

So... assuming I do well on the LSAT and end up being a "split", are the, let's say, top 20 law schools even going to read my personal statement and consider me... or will they just cash my application check and toss my papers into the trash because of my GPA?

If yes to the previous, would I still get serious consideration if I scored something lower than a Knock-Em-Dead score--maybe 160-165?

Thanks a bunch for your thoughts.
 ???

Somewhere

• View Profile
Re: Will I be taken at all seriously?
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2008, 04:17:18 PM »
Was the reason you raced through due to your family situation?

indyguy7484

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2008, 04:20:44 PM »