Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Non-Traditional Student Question  (Read 1310 times)

GrapeApe

• View Profile
Non-Traditional Student Question
« on: February 15, 2008, 10:44:34 AM »
I hope this is the right forum for my question. Forgive me if it is not.

I am wondering if anyone has any advice/experience for someone in my situation. I am currently evaluating some career options. Right now, I work as a full time law enforcement officer.

When I first started a career in law enforcement, I thought it would be a lifelong career path. 5 Years on the job, that's changed. The longer that I do this, the more I wonder if I could do something more in another facet of the Justice System.

I plan on taking the LSAT in June, so to a large degree my result on the test will dictate my options. I am finishing up my under graduate degree in Criminal Justice and currently have a decent, Though not spectacular, GPA (3.85).

The most difficult hurdle that I have to over come is my family situation. How does one support a Wife and two young kids while going through law school? Is this even doable?

My wife has no college education, so any job that she could potentially get while I attend school would be very low paying. I thought that trying the part-time/evening program route may be an option, but I read that the work load makes this extraordinarily difficult.

I have been told (perhaps falsely) that it is possible for a Law Student to obtain paid summer work. However, I don't have any clue as to if this would be sufficient to support the family while attending.

Others have told me that you can borrow your way through school in a situation like mine, but I don't find that to be an attractive option.

Has anyone been in a similar situation, and does anyone have advice?

Thanks in advance.

luke

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: Non-Traditional Student Question
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2008, 11:09:49 AM »