« on: July 15, 2012, 02:34:30 PM »
I think the student is required to take the FYLSE after the first year (or after the first 1 1/2 years, since they're part-tme). If they pass they can continue on to the second year. The CA bar requires the online/unaccredited school to certify that the student has completed something like 864 hours of instruction, divided into specific categories: a certain number of hours in torts, contracts, etc. This is the same requirement for applicants who study with an attorney or in judges' chambers.
After that, the requirements are the same as any other applicant: pass the MPRE, positive C&F determination, pass the bar.
BTW, the FYLSE is not typically required for students at CA accredited law schools unless they fail classes. Some (maybe all?) CA ABA schools require the FYLSE for re-admission if a student has been academically disqualified. If you look on the Calbar website you'll see a number of students from ABA schools taking the exam, but I don't know if that's required by the Calbar or if certain individual schools make it a requirement for re-admission.
Anyone who has more specific info, please feel free to correct me!
That is correct. You only have to take the FYLSE if you are attending a non-accredited law school after your first year in order to continue on to 2L. For Cal accredited and ABA accredited schools, the baby bar is not required. Some ABA schools, including my own, may require you to take the baby bar if you do not have a cum gpa of 2.0 after your first year and are seeking readmission or requesting readmission on a probationary status. I'm not sure how many ABA schools allow this, but the same is true for some state accredited schools also.
What is similar for non-accredited and Cal Bar approved is that you cannot take the bar in any other state until you have practiced law in California for about 3-5 years depending on the state and their requirements. In my opinion, if you only plan on practicing in California, state approved may be one of the best ways to go because it is about half the price of ABA, FYLSE is not required, and it still has state accreditation. The bar pass rates aren't great and I wouldn't recommend it if you have big law plans, but if you just plan on hanging a shingle or working as a public defender, etc. I see no reason why one shouldn't.