Law School Discussion

Law Students => Incoming 1Ls => Topic started by: whateverlady5555 on March 28, 2007, 12:26:43 PM

Title: Running ExamSoft via BootCamp on a new Mac
Post by: whateverlady5555 on March 28, 2007, 12:26:43 PM
Hey!

I know there are a lot of laptop threads, but I need a mac nerd to help me out.

I want to buy a new Mac for law school. My iBook is 3+ years old, and the disc drive is broken (as of last week!), so it is time to replace it.

I hear the new Intel processors SUCK. Is that true?

Has anyone run ExamSoft via Bootcamp on a newer Mac? I am curious how well this works.

I don't want to buy a PC laptop, but I will if it the new Macs aren't as good.

I'd love your input!
Title: Re: Running ExamSoft via BootCamp on a new Mac
Post by: Jolie Was Here on March 28, 2007, 12:29:09 PM
Can't speak to Exam Soft, but I have an Intel-based Macbook Pro and haven't have any exam software problems.  My school uses EBB.  And fwiw, my MBP was one of the first off the assembly line (so presumably buggier than what they're shipping now, more than a year later.) 

Check out www.maclawstudents.com.  Erik's done a great job compiling information for mac-using law students.
Title: Re: Running ExamSoft via BootCamp on a new Mac
Post by: whateverlady5555 on March 28, 2007, 12:31:38 PM
Thank you so much!
Title: Re: Running ExamSoft via BootCamp on a new Mac
Post by: h2xblive on March 28, 2007, 12:35:44 PM
Hey!

I know there are a lot of laptop threads, but I need a mac nerd to help me out.

I want to buy a new Mac for law school. My iBook is 3+ years old, and the disc drive is broken (as of last week!), so it is time to replace it.

I hear the new Intel processors SUCK. Is that true?

Has anyone run ExamSoft via Bootcamp on a newer Mac? I am curious how well this works.

I don't want to buy a PC laptop, but I will if it the new Macs aren't as good.

I'd love your input!

They suck compared to what?  A G4 or G5 chip?

I've heard almost nothing but good things from the Macbooks and Macbook Pros.
Title: Re: Running ExamSoft via BootCamp on a new Mac
Post by: whateverlady5555 on March 28, 2007, 12:40:00 PM
Yea, I heard that people prefer the G4/G5 processor to the Intel. I was just throwing it out there, because I didn't know if that was true or not.

I have a G4, and I love it.
Title: Re: Running ExamSoft via BootCamp on a new Mac
Post by: h2xblive on March 28, 2007, 12:41:00 PM
Yea, I heard that people prefer the G4/G5 processor to the Intel. I was just throwing it out there, because I didn't know if that was true or not.

I have a G4, and I love it.

Who prefers a G4??

They run hot, inefficient, and SLOWWWWWWWWWW

What kind of Mac do you have?
Title: Re: Running ExamSoft via BootCamp on a new Mac
Post by: whateverlady5555 on March 28, 2007, 12:42:54 PM
Yea, I heard that people prefer the G4/G5 processor to the Intel. I was just throwing it out there, because I didn't know if that was true or not.

I have a G4, and I love it.

Who prefers a G4??

They run hot, inefficient, and SLOWWWWWWWWWW

What kind of Mac do you have?

I have an iBook from 2003. It is fine, except the disc drive recently broke. Boo. I really want either a new Macbook/Macbook Pro for law school.
Title: Re: Running ExamSoft via BootCamp on a new Mac
Post by: h2xblive on March 28, 2007, 12:43:37 PM
Yea, I heard that people prefer the G4/G5 processor to the Intel. I was just throwing it out there, because I didn't know if that was true or not.

I have a G4, and I love it.

Who prefers a G4??

They run hot, inefficient, and SLOWWWWWWWWWW

What kind of Mac do you have?

I have an iBook from 2003. It is fine, except the disc drive recently broke. Boo. I really want either a new Macbook/Macbook Pro for law school.

Does it have a tray loading or slot loading CD drive?
Title: Re: Running ExamSoft via BootCamp on a new Mac
Post by: whateverlady5555 on March 28, 2007, 12:45:21 PM
It's slot loading. When I push a disc in, it won't grab it. I can easily push it all the way in, but it won't stick. It just kind of lays there.
Title: Re: Running ExamSoft via BootCamp on a new Mac
Post by: h2xblive on March 28, 2007, 12:47:40 PM
Booo.

a friend of mine had the old tray loading iBooks (G3, yes a G3) and recently bought a Macbook Pro - he loves it.
Title: Re: Running ExamSoft via BootCamp on a new Mac
Post by: whateverlady5555 on March 28, 2007, 12:49:29 PM
I know that is what I want. My only reservation is using the exam software for tests, but after looking at maclawstudents.com, it sounds like it would be fine. If not, I could borrow a PC from the school.
Title: Re: Running ExamSoft via BootCamp on a new Mac
Post by: h2xblive on March 28, 2007, 12:51:06 PM
You should have no problem running ExamSoft with Bootcamp, but I can't speak from experience, just theory.
Title: Re: Running ExamSoft via BootCamp on a new Mac
Post by: skeeball on March 28, 2007, 01:06:42 PM
I have a question about electronic exams, and this might not be the right thread.

Say I go to a school that won't let you run BootCamp on a Mac for exams and I have to use a PC for test day.

Does that PC laptop have to have wireless internet? How do you physically turn your test in--is it electronically submitted email-style, or do you just send it to a printer?
Title: Re: Running ExamSoft via BootCamp on a new Mac
Post by: slacker on March 28, 2007, 01:41:09 PM
With ExamSoft, the wireless is generally off. They want to lock you out of your hard drive/the Internet/etc. The way my school does exams is the exam is saved to a network drive, with a backup on a floppy (if you have a floppy) and the local hard drive.

As for the Mac -- just because the Mac will run ExamSoft doesn't mean the school will let you take the exam on the Mac.
Title: Re: Running ExamSoft via BootCamp on a new Mac
Post by: h2xblive on March 28, 2007, 01:42:10 PM
With ExamSoft, the wireless is generally off. They want to lock you out of your hard drive/the Internet/etc. The way my school does exams is the exam is saved to a network drive, with a backup on a floppy (if you have a floppy) and the local hard drive.

As for the Mac -- just because the Mac will run ExamSoft doesn't mean the school will let you take the exam on the Mac.

I'm sure the OP knows this, but she wanted to know, if it would work, period.
Title: Re: Running ExamSoft via BootCamp on a new Mac
Post by: slacker on March 28, 2007, 01:45:02 PM
Interesting. Thread cop. And I thought my life was dull.
Title: Re: Running ExamSoft via BootCamp on a new Mac
Post by: h2xblive on March 28, 2007, 01:49:54 PM
Interesting. Thread cop. And I thought my life was dull.

What makes you think your life is dull?
Title: Re: Running ExamSoft via BootCamp on a new Mac
Post by: whateverlady5555 on March 28, 2007, 03:52:49 PM
Please point me to any credible person who says the Intel processors in Macs suck.

Even if you have to use emulation to run Office or Photoshop, they are still at least as fast as their G4 predecesors.

I have a professor who uses her laptop for classes presentations a lot, and she said that she has a lot of problems with it.

Maybe she is bad with computers. I just don't know anyone else who has one.

I am relieved to hear that she is wrong!
Title: Re: Running ExamSoft via BootCamp on a new Mac
Post by: uscmeche on March 28, 2007, 05:31:21 PM
To throw in my two cents. I have a C2D MB and my fiance has a MBP, and they both rock!! If you plan on using Parallels (a Windows emulation program) get 2GB of RAM. I can be running programs in XP as well as OSX and it doesn't slow down my comp at all!

Plus, I swear XP runs faster on my mac than many of my friend's PC laptops.

Title: Re: Running ExamSoft via BootCamp on a new Mac
Post by: "Legapp" Stands for "Legal Application" on April 03, 2007, 09:29:48 PM
I took my exams on my MBP (the cheapest one) last fall via Examsoft/Bootcamp, and it worked fine.

A note of caution, tho: BACKUP YOUR FILES BEFORE, AND DURING, YOUR USE OF BOOTCAMP.

A girl here just lost her outlines and notes (not to mention personal pics, etc) from most of the spring semester because her partition was corrupt.  The computer itself is fine, but she had very little backed up.

The only other problem I've experienced is a hairline crack on the palm rests.  Apparently this was common on older MBPs, and some online posters said it's now fixed.  Regardless, the warranty covers it, but I'm waiting until the summer to get it fixed.
Title: Re: Running ExamSoft via BootCamp on a new Mac
Post by: formerapplicant on April 04, 2007, 04:12:55 AM
First-generation Macbook (intel ibook, basically) here.  Works great, but check whether your school has irritating policies about Bootcamp (failing to recognize that everything goes through years of "beta" these days because it sounds exotic and deflects responsibility, bizarrely considering a dual-boot system a threat to exam security, etc.).  Don't expect to be allowed to take exams in Parallels (and I think this is legitimate) using exam software, but of course if there's an honor code system that'd be fine.

Schools often have deeply discounted versions of WinXP for students (for legally setting up your dual-boot or Parallels).

Anyone having problems with the Intel procs must be nostalgic for their old, underpowered system (I had an ibook g4; it was one).

Problems: I had "random shutdown syndrome" for a few months and was ready to take it in when the firmware update fixed it.  Got the palmrest crack a couple weeks ago :-(  It's been great overall, though.
Title: Re: Running ExamSoft via BootCamp on a new Mac
Post by: OingoBoingo on April 04, 2007, 06:21:05 AM
We use secureexam so this isn't an issue at our school. Question to those using parallels - does the program partition off a section of your hard drive for running windows? Do you get to set it size? Can you recover it if you decide to remove the program?

Oingo
Title: Re: Running ExamSoft via BootCamp on a new Mac
Post by: bamf on April 04, 2007, 07:28:58 AM
tag ... gonna need to find out how this crap works eventually
Title: Re: Running ExamSoft via BootCamp on a new Mac
Post by: uscmeche on April 04, 2007, 09:04:33 AM
We use secureexam so this isn't an issue at our school. Question to those using parallels - does the program partition off a section of your hard drive for running windows? Do you get to set it size? Can you recover it if you decide to remove the program?

Oingo

The new parallels uses the boot camp partition, prior to that it created its own image on the hd. You still have this option, but using the boot camp partition is superb.

That being said, parallels also has a cool viewing mode called "coherence" it puts your windows programs on the dock and integrates them into your workspace in OSX. It is super sick. I now use parallels more than actually booting into XP.
Title: Re: Running ExamSoft via BootCamp on a new Mac
Post by: OingoBoingo on April 04, 2007, 01:31:23 PM
We use secureexam so this isn't an issue at our school. Question to those using parallels - does the program partition off a section of your hard drive for running windows? Do you get to set it size? Can you recover it if you decide to remove the program?

Oingo

The new parallels uses the boot camp partition, prior to that it created its own image on the hd. You still have this option, but using the boot camp partition is superb.

That being said, parallels also has a cool viewing mode called "coherence" it puts your windows programs on the dock and integrates them into your workspace in OSX. It is super sick. I now use parallels more than actually booting into XP.

Dude, does that literally mean that I can run Onenote 2007 as if it were a literal Mac app?

wow.

Oingo
Title: Re: Running ExamSoft via BootCamp on a new Mac
Post by: flyaway on April 04, 2007, 04:32:19 PM
So, right now I have Parallels, but I haven't installed Boot Camp.  I'm going to need to install Boot Camp for lawa school.  If I uninstall Parallels first, and then reinstall it after Boot Camp is installed, can I get it so that it is running off that Boot Camp partition?
Title: Re: Running ExamSoft via BootCamp on a new Mac
Post by: Le Docteur De Peste on April 04, 2007, 05:03:16 PM
t4g cuz 1 4/\/\ 1337
Title: Re: Running ExamSoft via BootCamp on a new Mac
Post by: jillibean on April 04, 2007, 05:28:07 PM
tag
Title: Re: Running ExamSoft via BootCamp on a new Mac
Post by: whateverlady5555 on April 04, 2007, 06:37:21 PM
Another examsoft related question....

Will we buy it through the law school with our books? I was at my campus computer school today (UT-Austin), and noticed they didn't have it there. Do we have to buy it ourselves? Just wondering, because I was in there to buy Windows XP pro, and it is only $20 when I buy it through UT. So now i just need to get my new Mac.....yea.
Title: Re: Running ExamSoft via BootCamp on a new Mac
Post by: "Legapp" Stands for "Legal Application" on April 04, 2007, 06:39:21 PM
Another examsoft related question....

Will we buy it through the law school with our books? I was at my campus computer school today (UT-Austin), and noticed they didn't have it there. Do we have to buy it ourselves? Just wondering, because I was in there to buy Windows XP pro, and it is only $20 when I buy it through UT. So now i just need to get my new Mac.....yea.


holy crap!  i paid $300 for xp pro.  anyway, examsoft is a free download, but you can't get it yet--they make it available a few weeks before finals (i guess so you can't reprogram it or something).
Title: Re: Running ExamSoft via BootCamp on a new Mac
Post by: uscmeche on April 04, 2007, 06:58:41 PM
We use secureexam so this isn't an issue at our school. Question to those using parallels - does the program partition off a section of your hard drive for running windows? Do you get to set it size? Can you recover it if you decide to remove the program?

Oingo

The new parallels uses the boot camp partition, prior to that it created its own image on the hd. You still have this option, but using the boot camp partition is superb.

That being said, parallels also has a cool viewing mode called "coherence" it puts your windows programs on the dock and integrates them into your workspace in OSX. It is super sick. I now use parallels more than actually booting into XP.

Dude, does that literally mean that I can run Onenote 2007 as if it were a literal Mac app?

wow.

Oingo

Pretty much. You still have to boot into xp, but it doesn't take too long. I put my XP desktop to sleep when I am not using it so that way I can just resume instead of a full reboot.
Title: Re: Running ExamSoft via BootCamp on a new Mac
Post by: whateverlady5555 on April 04, 2007, 07:05:21 PM
Another examsoft related question....

Will we buy it through the law school with our books? I was at my campus computer school today (UT-Austin), and noticed they didn't have it there. Do we have to buy it ourselves? Just wondering, because I was in there to buy Windows XP pro, and it is only $20 when I buy it through UT. So now i just need to get my new Mac.....yea.


holy crap!  i paid $300 for xp pro.  anyway, examsoft is a free download, but you can't get it yet--they make it available a few weeks before finals (i guess so you can't reprogram it or something).

Yes, schools that participate in education discount programs RULE. I will also get a 10% discount on my mac. I am trying to wait as long as I can to buy it. My current laptop (it's 3.5 years old) can make it until the end of the semester I think.....I hope so anyway.